YAPL – November 8, 2008

Place: The Range at NRA Headquarters

Gear: TSS 5″ Limited Gun, 200-odd rounds of the new load.

Goals: Yet more shot-calling practice, plus some long-range work.

Hit the range at 1:00pm or so, on my much-needed day off. Drills for this session as follows:

  1. 50 rds. freestyle group shooting at 15, 25, and 40 yards
  2. 50 rds. calling single shots from the holster at 15 yards
  3. 50 rds. calling 2x from the holster at 15 yards
  4. 50 rds. 2-shot doubles, from the holster, at 7, 15, and 25 yards
Shot calling is slowly getting better. I noticed that I’ve developed a tendency to grip too hard with my strong hand, and that when I do this I get uncalled shots off to 9:00. More dry-practice with the grip seems to be the solution.
Slowfire groups at 15y were in the 1-2″ range, at 25y were in the 5-6″ range, and at 40y, well, they were all in the C zone. I’m wondering if my Limited gun is ready for a new barrel – it has almost 15000 rounds down the existing tube. All the groups/patterns were centered nicely, though.
2 As from the holster at 7y is running just about 1.1 seconds. At this distance, I don’t use the sights on open targets (I absolutely do if there’s hard cover or a no-shoot about.) At 15y, my time climbs up to about 1.5-1.6 seconds. I can push it to 1.4, but I get some Cs. At 25 yards, my split time really starts to climb, about 1.4 for the draw and 0.5 for the second shot split.

Results: More dryfire. I’ve been slacking a little lately, and it shows up in the concsistency of my grip. Watch the sights!

Leave a comment