Texas Multigun Championship

As some of you already know, I attended the Texas Multigun Championship last week. I’ll be working up a full on match review, as well as getting some Hi-Def video up on YouTube from the match.

First off, this match was incredible. Despite being the most heavily attended 3 Gun match I’ve ever shot, everything ran smoothly, the stages were fun (more on that in a bit), and Sheldon Carruth, the Match Director, did a phenomenal job of running everything. The prize table was also just outstanding, one of the best I’ve seen. LaRue Tactical, the major match sponsor really made their presence known, and the LaRue folks are just as cool in person as they are online or over the phone. The free brisket was a nice touch.

As for myself, well, what started off as something that I figured would be an easy match to own turned into one of the hardest matches I’ve ever shot, in part because the stages looked a lot easier than they actually were, and in part because it’s tremendously difficult to get a proper sight picture when you have your head planted firmly up your ass.

Also, there were equipment issues. I can say that for the first time ever, my AR had a malfunction that wasn’t ammunition related, and this resulted in my having to walk off a stage incomplete.

Still and all, despite massive failures on my part, I managed to come in 87th out of 289 shooters in Tactical Scope.

Leave a Reply

