Things I Learned While Dryfiring…

While doing my nightly dry practice session, I noticed something strange. During the drawstroke, my front sight would drift off to the left of the target, and I’d have to pull it back to the center before pressing off the shot.

This was NOT helping my times, or my accuracy.

After scratching my head for a bit, I figured out that I was bringing my support hand too far to the right during the ‘grip’ phase of the draw. My hands were coming together too soon, and I was starting the ‘press out’ part of the draw from down around my right hip, rather than my centerline. Instead of pressing straight out to the target, I was skewing off to the left.

So, something to keep in mind. Bring the gun to your centerline before starting your ‘press out.’ Your match scores will thank you.

Leave a Reply

