A Meditation on Shooting Practice…

By way of Caleb at Gun Nuts Media, I am made aware of this article by Tiger McKee, of Gunsite and Shootrite Academy fame.

I have a great deal of respect for Tiger McKee’s abilities as a trainer, and I’m sure it’s the height of hubris to comment on someone who gets paid to train shooters, but here we go…

A single 50-round practice session is a very, very short practice.  50 reps, even if you stretch them out with dry practice, is not many if you are trying to train a new technique or speed up an old one.  So if you are limited to 50 rounds at a practice session, I think your best bet is to focus on a single skill, rather than try to practice everything at once.

Tiger’s 50-round practice session incorporates the drawstroke, reloading, movement, target transitions, and several other skills.  All important skills, but I think it’s too many to cram into a single range session.  You can’t focus on three or four major skillsets and expect to improve them.

Instead, I would pick a single skillset and build the practice session around it.  For instance, if I wanted to practice my drawstroke and presentation, I might shoot 15 1-shot presentations from high ready, another 15 1-shot presentations from the holster, then maybe some 2-shot draws while moving offline to get out of my comfort zone some.

If 50 rounds is all you have, you need to wring every bit of practice out of every round you fire.  I think that focusing on a single skill per practice is the best way to do that.  As always, give it a try, use what works, discard what does not.

Leave a Reply

